Error 1747: The Authentication Service is Unknown

by Jay Jonas

Do not ask me why, my notebook Windows 7 64-bit woke up this morning bothering me with this error

Windows Could not start the Windows Event Log service on Local Computer.
Error 1747: The authentication service is unknown.

I will not even attempt to look for explanations, not worth it. The solution to so, at least in my case, was to follow the steps below:

  • Go to the Start Menu, type cmd and right click or (Ctrl + Shift and hit Enter), and select “Run As Administrator”.
  • Type the following commands, each followed by pressing enter.
ipconfig /flushdns
nbtstat -R
nbtstat -RR
netsh int reset all
netsh int ip reset
netsh winsock reset
netsh interface tcp set global autotuninglevel=disabled

// http://support.microsoft.com/kb/811259

6 Comments to “Error 1747: The Authentication Service is Unknown”

  1. Thanks, this helped me a lot.

  2. Thank you !!! You’ve made my day… unbeleivable how window 7 can be more and more complicate for end user.. thanks a million that we have Google..so that I can found your article…

  3. I appreciate your comment and I’ll consider changing the layout in the near future. You are welcome!

Leave a comment